Skip to main content

Acts of God by Architecture of Aggression Review


The friendly beardos of Architecture of Aggression were not content with Christian blasphemies alone. Nay, nay, they decided to take a stab at all the desert peasant religions on this ambitious concept album. Regardless of your opinion on Islam, Christianity or Judaism, if you like technical death metal with a solid groove, you'd be content with this album.


Lyrically, this album borrows from the Bible, the Quran and Richard Dawkins plenty. I shall not venture on this too long because the concept of memes and how religion is a destructive one is quite popular of late. Read The Selfish Gene if you are interested in the topic.

Richard Dawkins Selfish Gene
Richard Dawkins, who wants to eat your young, apparently.

By the time of their previous release, the band had just completed their stable touring lineup. One of the tracks that resulted from this unholy union is Systems of Control. That track more or less sets the tone of the new album. It also happens to be one of my favourite A.O.A tracks, so this album heads in exactly the right direction for me. They self-released it and practically gave it away for a mere R50 at the launch gig.

Some highlights of this album are the closing track, Requiem for a Meme, with its chanting and horn section (yes, you read that right), the middle tracks, Designer Religion and Immaculate Deception, and House of War. It's also fun to hear the Boere accents bashing religion.

My favourite section is the last section, which focuses on the atrocities of Islam. These tracks have a Middle Eastern feel to them, with their exotic rhythms and scales used to personify the region and its religion.

Overall, this album represents a transitional album for the band, moving from a comfortable duo to a slightly more dynamic power trio. Sometimes the results are amazing and sometimes the results are a little rough around the edges. I feel this represents a positive change, as the band members are not staying in their comfort zone.

Individually, the tracks take some time to get going and to get locked into a groove. Some fans rate their previous releases higher, though I disagree. I think this new album is their best yet and deserves a couple of listens. To me, it is always good when a new album makes you feel uncomfortable at first and then comes back to haunt you over time.

Track listing

  1. Sol Invictus

  2. Memetaphage

  3. Brutal Belief

  4. Covenant

  5. Peadophage

  6. Religion of Love

  7. Designer Religion

  8. Immaculate Deception

  9. Verses of the Sword

  10. Slaves of God

  11. House of War

  12. Deus Ex Memetica

  13. Requiem for a Meme


  • Van666 Alberts: guitars and vocals.

  • Anton 'Belial' Alberts: drums, percussion and vocals.

  • William Tempest Bishop: bass, trombone, keyboard and vocals.


Buy it, listen to it and give me your rating for a change.


dreamfoundry said…
Ah, good ol' AOA. While I'm not a great fan of metal, (although I somehow managed to become a fan of Tool) I like the way these guys think.

I was at the album launch at Full Moon café in Pretoria, and got some shots of the band. I've been too lazy to put them all on my blog, but I did manage a bit of a fan-page for William Bishop. (Who's mom, incidentally, taught me first year Java in 1998)

Here ya go:

Popular posts from this blog

Fist bump the Trump

I must confess that I did not follow this election as it unfolded, because I have no skin in this game. I only became interested when I saw the crocodile tears on Facebook.

What fascinated me more was that the Trump supporters came out of the closet for the first time to voice their opinions. Virtually none of these Trump supporters espoused racist, misogynistic or any of those kind of deplorable views. Most of them were just pointing fingers at the know-it-all Clinton supporters.

What characterised this election? Rather than enlightened liberals waging a culture war with backward rednecks and hayseeds, three things characterised this election for me:
Shared hubris: Our candidate is bad, but the other candidate is even worse. Both parties seemed to espouse this sentiment.Joe Sixpack's Revenge: Based on voter turnout and based on for whom the largest voting group voted, this election was the revenge of the average American. That is average American by sheer number. Nobody bothered t…

Why has outrage come to dominate platforms like Twitter?

This question was posted on twitter by Sarah Britten Pillay. I shall try to answer that here, or at least address some of the topics surrounding this notion.

What makes a platform like Twitter more outrageous than the next? A brief summary of my thoughts on the topic: It would be interesting to contrive some outrage meter that could detect outrage levels in a piece of text.Plenty if not most of social media outrage is manufactured as a distraction.Outrage that isn't manufactured can be analysed by means of kin selection concepts from biology.If you aren't entirely sold on the sociobiology idea, then the balance of risk and incentive from game theory can also shed some light on the rationale behind social media outrage. Outrage levels are too damn high I do agree that social media platforms tend to be filled with more outrage than others, but as far as I know there is no means of detecting or measuring outrage. The need exists for some outrage quotient or some method of classify…

White tears the most valuable currency but not as valuable as fauxtrage

This formerly glorious publication which I shall not even bother naming has also fallen into the habit of censoring its comments section, at least when it comes to white tears. Fortunately, I could still save this obviously far superior comment from the rather myopic agitprop from whence it came. I know it is superior because the quality of your commentary is inversely proportional to how long it stays unscathed. That's why the sanctimonious finger-wagging op-eds rarely get deleted, but the comments rarely last long.
Anyone - black or white or of any other pigmentation persuasion - with a Rhodes Scholarship can but only cry White Tears. Someone with a Rhodes Scholarship is in the very lap of privilege, the likes of which not even the majority of pale South Africans born with a silver spoon will ever see. That is why it is not uncommon to see their ilk waiting on tables instead of whipping their slaves on their ill-begotten land, which they refuse to give up, you see.
A similar campa…